Tourist Self-Guide: Rajasthan Through Districts PDF

  • Document
  • 16 MB
₹ 50

Since antiquity, Rajasthan has been land of kings and kingdoms. At the time of Independence (1947), Rajasthan had 19 Princely states and 3 Chief-ships. As per the Indian administrative setup these states have been merged, divided, transferred to convert into 33 distinct districts. While administrative efficiency has been the driving force behind the districts, the long history, lineage and diversity has allowed each of the districts to boast of unique history, culture, trades, folks, physical features and places peculiar to each one of them.

The book aims to serve as a macro-level guide and explores the history, geography, art and culture of each of these districts of Rajasthan, in a unique way. It contains 33 chapters, one on each of the 33 districts. For each district, location, history, rulers, historical places, geography, natural places, major fairs and festivals, folk culture and aspects of population have been covered. Small pictures of the objects have been included to improve the feel of the topic.

The book can be a companion to lone traveller in land of Rajasthan, guiding her/him across the history, context of historical things, natural geography of places, flora, fauna & the natural places, worth visiting in each district. It is also a keep for people who want to understand the long history, diverse culture, and multiplicity of traditions of Rajasthan, in a simple, short yet structured way.

Book Preview